Short version UEMO position paper – added value of team work in GP/FM

27/01/2014 1851 Views

UEMO defends the role of general practitioners/family physicians in the health care systems to promote the highest standard of patient care and consider interprofessional collaboration as an added value to the quality of care.

UEMO point out some principles:

  • Focus on local reality for the implementation of the European guidelines in health care.
  • Clear definition of responsibilities and limits, fostering a culture of mutual support and respect within healthcare team. Clear consensual definition of roles and tasks in the health care team with sufficient flexibility to adapt to local reality.
  • Value of coordination of care
  • Person-centredness
  • Promotion of patient empowerment.
  • Personal relationship over time and continuity of care.
  • Recognition of the specialist skills the GPs have in managing complexity and uncertainty, in diagnosing and in decision making.

WG complexity and competencies.

Dr. Daniel Widmer – Switzerland
chair of the group
drwidmer@belgo-suisse.com

Tiago Marques – Portugal
Tiago.villanueva@gmail.com

Agneta Sikvall – Sweden
Agneta.sikvall@gmail.com

Kate Adams – UK
kateadams@doctors.org.uk

Robert Festersen – Germany
Robert.festersen@hausaerzteverbaud.de

Nena Kopcavar Gucek – Slovenia
nenagucek@gmail.com

Petr Subrt – Czech Republic
Subrt.petr@gmail.com

Giuseppe E. Rivolta – Italy
rivolta@duturnet.it

Reiner Brettenthaler – Austria
reiner.brett@gmail.com

Edward Dore – Ireland
edore@imo.ie

Lynda Hamilton – Ireland
Hamlyn@eircom.net

Related articles