In 1967, the general practice associations of the then six Member States of the European Economic Community assembled in Paris to establish the European Union of General Practitioners (UEMO).

With this, general practice achieved a voice throughout the Community and, in time, this would prove the political voice of general practice, both of the European Union and of Europe as a whole. At that time, general medical practice had only begun to emerge as a new central discipline of the profession, and was far from recognised in Europe.

The problems of general practice had only begun to be taken up for serious discussion. Years would pass before a sub-committee on general practice was established in the Standing Committee of European Doctors (C), and when the first directives for mutual recognition of medical credentials were adopted in 1975, no real account was taken of general practice.

It would take another decade before the UEMO struggle to fill the gap would achieve its first major success - in 1986 - with the adoption of the European Directive, guaranteeing a minimum standard of training for general practitioners in Europe.

On the 21st January 2009, UEMO acquired legal personality. The organisation's Deed of Incorporation as a non-profit under the Belgian Law was signed in Brussels by President Dr. Isabel Caixeiro and UEMO became officially known as L'Union Européenne des Médecins Omnipraticiens / Médecins de Famille, AISBL.

Presidencies of UEMO (1967-2010)

1967-1971 Belgium

Dr. Fussen, President

Dr. Malfliet, Secretary General

1972-1979 Netherlands

Dr. Van Rijn, President

Dr. van der Leeuw, Secretary General

1980-1982 France


Dr. Lavolée,Secretary General

1983-1986 United Kingdom


Dr.Josse, Secretary General

1987-1990 Germany

Dr.Pfaff, President

Dr.Hoch, Secretary General

Dr.Thomas/Dr Winn,Treasurer

1991-1994 Denmark

Dr. Asbiorn Jensen, President

Dr Schioler,Secretary General

Dr Laerkesen Holm,Treasurer

1995-1998 Ireland

Dr Cormac Macnamara, President

Dr Norman Murphy, Secretary General

Dr Garret Hayes,Treasurer

Dr Larry Fullam, Deputy Secretary General

1998-1999 Portugal
1999-2001 Italy

Dr Claudio Cricelli, President

Raffaella Michieli, Head of Secretariat

Dr. Lamberto Pressato, Treasurer

Ms Giovanna Lucherini, Deputy Secretary General

2002-2006 Sweden

Dr Christina Fabian, President

Dr Carl-Eric Thors, Secretary General

Dr Benny Ståhlberg, Treasurer

Ms Elisabeth Sundström, Executive Secretary

2007-2010 Portugal

Dr Isabel Caixeiro, President

Dr Luís Filipe Gomes, Secretary General

Dr Manuela Santos, Treasurer

Ms Carla de Sousa, Executive Secretary

2011-2014 Hungary

Ferenc Hajnal, MD, PhD, President

Renata Papp MD, MSc, Secretary General

Sandor Balogh MD, PhD, Treasurer

Krisztina Pàl MD, MBA, Executive Secretary

2015-2018 Italy

Aldo Lupo, MD, President

Giuseppe Enrico Rivolta MD, Secretary General

Giuseppe Augello MD, Treasurer

Claudia Ventura PhD, Executive Secretary

2019-2022 Romania

Călin Bumbuluț MD, President

Gindrovel Dumitra MD, PhD, Secretary General

Mădălina Vesa MD, Treasurer

Silvia Lepădătescu, Executive Secretary